Journey

IMG_1676 - Version 2

at the end of the journey

a calm descends

small gifts are acknowledged in

 the book of your life.

larger omissions are sewn shut

like skin that covers a bone

some neatly with small even stitches

others not so much

perhaps it would heal

given time

leaving only a small scar

a memory that skips the surface of the water

like a stone thrown by a boy who smells like sweat and wind and summer

who has yet to learn of his deficiencies

written in braille on the trail head.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Loved this one. The stitching, some fine, some not so, is exquisite! Great image with this too. I believe the second line has an extra ‘of’ you might want to delete.

    Like

  2. I had a character tell someone once that scars and secrets had a lot in common because some things hurt too much to share. Large omissions sewn shut. Nice.

    Like

      1. I find they often tell me things I didn’t know, and their timing is always so much better than my own. Talk about imaginary friends…

        Like

Comments are closed.